NADO Leaders Group: Renewed call for anti-doping reform

Relations publiques

October 26, 2016. Bonn, Germany - Yesterday, the leaders of a group of iNADO Members met in Bonn, hosted by the NADA Germany.  The outcome was a renewed call for anti-doping reform.  Here is a link to the NADA Germany website where you can find the press release the leaders issued.

This meeting was a continuation of a group of like-minded NADO leaders who first came together in July to write an open letter to the IOC urging it to ban Russia from the Rio Olympics because of the state-sponsored doping revealed by the first McLaren Report. Those same leaders also wrote an opinion piece for the Guardian newspaper later that month critical of the IOC’s actions: . 

The acquiescent approach of the IOC to state-sponsored doping in Russia, the contrasting firm response of the IPC, unfounded attacks on WADA, and then the Fancy Bears disclosure of private athlete TUE information (from a hacked IOC e-mail account for TUE applications of Rio Olympic athletes), have combined to erode athlete confidence in anti-doping.  This must be cured as quickly as possible and by decisive measures. 

That urgency led to a meeting of a slightly larger group of like-minded NADO leaders in Copenhagen at the end of August.  That meeting resulted in a more formal declaration of reform proposals for anti-doping.  Those proposals were acknowledged as constructive by WADA and widely praised by athletes and national sport organisations in many countries.

The meeting in Bonn, which iNADO helped to organise and the outcome of which iNADO supports, was a continued effort to influence sport decision-makers and public opinion about the changes needed to anti-doping to restore the confidence of clean athletes.  It reiterated the Copenhagen reform proposals and built on them.

The proposals were written and endorsed by anti-doping leaders from around the world, including Australia, Austria, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Flanders (Belgium), France, Germany, Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Puerto Rico, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, and United States.